

# **Office of Training & Certification**

# CERTIFICATION/RECERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS

# MEMORANDUM

There are several certification and recertification requirements adopted by various agencies which impact firefighters in New Jersey. The intent of this document is to summarize those requirements as an "overview statement" to assist the New Jersey fire service to understand and meet the adopted Federal and State regulatory requirements. Please contact the individual agency to obtain official interpretation of specific requirements.

### **Required for all responders:**

 Bloodborne Pathogens Training: Training required by and must meet N.J.A.C. 12:100-4.2. Initial training and annual refresher training has no set hours for either. Initial and refresher training must cover all topics in 29 CFR 1910.1030 and to keep proficient.
NJ Department of Health & Senior Services <u>http://www.state.nj.us/health/eoh/peoshweb/</u>
NJ Division of Fire Safety – NJ Firefighter Skills Addendum <u>http://www.nj.gov/dca/divisions/dfs/forms/bfds/nj\_addenum.pdf</u>
http://www.nj.gov/dca/divisions/dfs/forms/bfds/nj\_addendum\_part2.pdf
http://www.nj.gov/dca/divisions/dfs/forms/bfds/nj\_addendum\_3.pdf • **Right-to-Know Training:** Initial training and refresher training every two years. Training required by and must meet N.J.A.C. 7:1G (NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection, Bureau of Chemical Release Information and Prevention) and N.J.A.C. 8:59 (NJ Dept. of Labor, Division of Workplace Standards). Initial training is four hours and refresher training is two hours.

NJ Department of Health & Senior Services <u>http://www.state.nj.us/health/eoh/rtkweb/</u> NJ Division of Fire Safety – NJ Firefighter Skills Addendum <u>http://www.nj.gov/dca/divisions/dfs/forms/bfds/nj\_addendum\_part2.pdf</u> <u>http://www.nj.gov/dca/divisions/dfs/pdf/nj\_addendum\_3.pdf</u>

• Hazardous Materials Training: Awareness and Operations. Initial and refresher training, includes SCBA. Training required by and must meet 29 CFR 1910.120. Initial Awareness training is eight hours; refresher training has no set hours, but must cover topic in sufficient depth to keep proficient. Initial Operations training is 12 hours; refresher training has no set hours, but must cover topic in sufficient depth to keep proficient.

Hazardous Materials: Awareness: 29 CFR 1910.120(q)(6)(i) Hazardous Materials: Operational: 29 CFR 1910.120(q)(6)(ii) **US Department of Labor** 

http://www.osha.gov/pls/oshaweb/owadisp.show\_document?p\_t able=STANDARDS&p\_id=9765

• **Confined Space Training:** Departments with the potential for confined space work must have initial training required by and must meet N.J.A.C. 12:100-9. Initial training and refresher training has no set hours. Must cover topics in 29 CFR 1910.146. Refresher training when procedures or confined spaces change.

#### **US Department of Labor**

http://www.osha.gov/pls/oshaweb/owadisp.show\_document?p\_t able=standards&p\_id=9797

 Incident Management System Training: Firefighter 1 certification required. All fire service personnel are required to complete the two-hour introductory ICS Orientation (I-100. Supervisory personnel are required to complete ICS Basic (I-200). Training required by and must meet N.J.A.C. 5:73-6.1. IMS Orientation (I-100) initial training is two hours. IMS Basic (I-200) initial training is 12 to 16 hours. No refresher training required. All I-200, I-300, and I-400 training for fire service personnel must be an Instructor lead, classroom delivery. No on-line deliveries of I-200, I-300, and I-400 courses will be accepted.

NJ Division of Fire Safety – NJ Firefighter Skills Addendum http://www.nj.gov/dca/divisions/dfs/forms/bfds/nj\_addenum.pdf http://www.nj.gov/dca/divisions/dfs/forms/bfds/nj\_addendum\_part2.pdf http://www.nj.gov/dca/divisions/dfs/pdf/nj\_addendum\_3.pdf

• SCBA Mask Fit Test: All structural fire service personnel are required to complete the SCBA Mask Fit Test annually. Required by NFPA 1401-3-2.12 and OSHA 29 CFR 1910.134.

## **Instructor Certifications:**

- **Instructor Requirements:** Firefighter-I certification is required. Instructors who actually teach live fire training for any fire department or fire academy must be certified to at least Fire Instructor Level 1 with a Drill Ground Instructor certification. The instructor in charge of the evolution must be certified as a Fire Instructor Level 2 with a Drill Ground Instructor certification. Required by N.J.A.C. 5:73-1.6.
- Fire Instructor Level 1: Initial training for Fire Instructor Level 1 requires the successful completion of the state adopted program and satisfactorily passing of the DFS State Fire Instructor 1written exam. This is a renewable certification which requires the certification holder to accumulate 1.5 Instructor CEU's (Administrative & Technical CEU's added together) over a three-year certification cycle.
- Fire Instructor Level 2: Fire Instructor Level-I is a prerequisite to Fire Instructor Level-II. Initial training for Fire Instructor Level 2 requires the successful completion of the state adopted program and satisfactorily passing of the DFS State Fire Instructor 2 written exam. This is a renewable certification which requires the certification holder to accumulate 1.5 Instructor CEU's (Administrative & Technical CEU's added together) over a three-year certification cycle.

• **Drill Ground Instructor:** Initial training is an 8-hour Drill Ground Instructor Course. The individual wishing to obtain this certification must first possess either a Fire Instructor Level 1 or 2 certification. This is a renewable certification which requires the certification holder to attend a Drill Ground Instructor course once every three years in a certification cycle.

### **Inspector/Official Certifications:**

- Fire Inspector Certification: Initial training is the successful completion of the Division of Fire Safety 110-hour Fire Inspector course with successful completion of the Course, Written Exam, and Skills Exam for the Fire Inspector 1 state certification. Recertification is 20 hours (2.0 Technical CEU's) every three-year certification cycle. N.J.A.C. 5:71-4.
- Fire Official Certification: Fire Inspector is the prerequisite certification for this title. Initial training is the successful completion of the Division of Fire Safety Fire Official course that is 30-45 hours in length. This certification requires 1.0 Administrative CEU's and 2.0 Technical CEU's to recertify every three-year certification cycle. N.J.A.C. 5:71-4.

### **Emergency Medical Services:**

- Emergency Medical Technician: Initial training hours vary from course to course; typically, from 180 hours to 225 hours. Certification Requirements:
  - a) Possession of a valid Healthcare Provider or equivalent CPR certification;
  - b) Successful completion of the EMT initial educational program; and
  - c) Passing the NJ EMT certification examination.

The current NJ EMT certification is issued for five (5) years. Once this special legislation bill expires in 2015, the certification is scheduled to revert back to a three (3) year certification.

Defibrillation training is included in the Healthcare Provider CPR certification, and is reinforced in the EMT initial education program.

Recertification requirements for NJ EMT certification is the successful completion of the 24 hour refresher program, and the completion of 24 Continuing Education Units (CEU's). The CEU's must have NJ OEMS approval numbers prior to conducting the class, and all information must be included in the LMS.

NJ Department of Health & Senior Services – Office of Emergency Medical Services, Education and Certification – 609-633-7777 http://www.state.nj.us/health/ems

• **Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation:** Initial training four hours. Refresher training two hours every two years. American Heart Association or American Red Cross. American Heart Association: <u>http://www.americanherat.org/</u> American Red Cross: <u>http://www.redcross.org/</u>